Home > Student Development > Student Governance > Student Representative Council (SRC)
Student Governance

Student Representative Council (SRC)

The Student Representative Council (SRC) is the highest decision-making student body in the university, subject to the powers of the Student Parliament. It represents students in terms of the provisions of the Higher Education Act and the Statute of the University of Cape Town. It consists of 15 registered students elected annually in a campus-wide election. The SRC holds office from 1 November until 31 October in the following year. It runs various programmes for student development and represents students on important university committees throughout its term..

Constitution of the Students' Representative Council | Election Regulations | Student Governance Model

The SRC Offices are located on Level 7 of the Steve Biko Students' Union Building on Upper Campus.

It should be noted that the SRC are currently working remotely. 

For telephonic enquiries, please call:
Ms Zola Tame, SRC receptionist at 021- 650 3537


The SRC members for 2021/2022

The SRC's official term commenced on 1 November 2021 and will conclude on 31 October 2022.

Portfolio Name Surname Email
President Mila Zibi
Vice-President  Siya  Plaatjie
Secretary General  Sandile Monoane
Deputy Secretary General  Abicha Tshiamala
Treasurer General  Kumkani Goqoza
Corporate Relations & Fundraising Co-ordinator Thalente Ace Gumbi
International Students Co-ordinator Cheryl  Sambadzai
Labour & Student Services Co-ordinator Sinelizwi   Somdaka
Undergraduate Academics Co-ordinator  Yanganani Sibeko
Postgraduate Academics Co-ordinator  Oratile  Thothela
Residence & Housing Co-ordinator Jess Griesel
Social Responsiveness Co-ordinator  Katleho Cathy Mthenjane
Societies & Day Houses Co-ordinator  Phila Phakathi
Sports & Recreation Co-ordinator Awonke Melokuhle Ntshonga
Student Advocacy Co-ordinator Tebogo Mabusela