Student Governance

Student Parliament

The Student Parliament of the University of Cape Town is an assembly of all the student structures at the university. It serves as an advisory body to the SRC on policy matters, but decisions taken by a two thirds majority of the assembly are binding on the SRC. It keeps the SRC and its substructures accountable, transparent and rooted in the principles and values that are enshrined in the SRC constitution. The meetings of the student assembly are open to all registered students of the university to observe and participate without voting rights. Its affairs are managed by the Student Parliament Management Committee.

Student Parliament Management Committee (SPMC) 2017

  Members Email
Speaker Marcus Gawronsky
Deputy Speaker Zethu Albanie
Chief Whip Hannah Margetts
Leader of SRC Business Sinawo Thambo
Secretary Lethabo Maunye