Student Governance


The Students' Representative Council (SRC) and Faculty Council elections are governed by the Election Regulations that were approved by the UCT Council in 2013 and amended in 2016.

The Election Regulations provide for the Election Commission, as an independent and impartial body, to oversee and govern the SRC and Faculty Council elections or by-elections in a free and fair manner.

The Election Operations Office is the administrative branch of the Election Commission that, under the supervision of the Election Commission and in accordance with the Election Regulations, run the SRC and Faculty Council elections from a logistical and administrative stand point.

2019 Election Timeline

The SRC Elections have been postponed. The new SRC election dates are:

Nominations open

29 July 2019

Nominations close

22 August 2019

Candidate Workshop

24 August 2019 

Publish Nom List

22 August 2019

Close Objection to nom list

23 August 2019


23 August 2019


16 to 20 September 2019


23 to 27 September 2019

Vote Counting

28 September 2019

Provisional Results

30 September 2019

Final Results

2 October 2019

















2019 SRC Candidates

Find the 2019 SRC Candidate List here and the Manifesto Booklet here

SRC Election Campaign Activities

How to vote?

A student can vote either by paper ballot at a voting station on campus or online via eBallot.

Click on the image to be redirected to the online voting site and use your UCT credentials to log in. 


Who can vote?

A student must be registered at UCT for at least one complete semester in order to be eligible to vote in the elections.

Contact Details:

The Election Operations Office
Student Orientation & Advocacy Service, Office 2.01, Computer Science Building, Upper Campus
Tel: 021 650 7311


Twitter: @UCTSRCElections
Instagram: uct_elections
Vula: SRC Elections 

Chief Electoral Officer: Edwina Brooks at Edwina