Home > Student Development > Student Governance > Student Representative Council (SRC)
Student Governance

Student Representative Council (SRC)

The Student Representative Council (SRC) is the highest decision-making student body in the university, subject to the powers of the Student Parliament. It represents students in terms of the provisions of the Higher Education Act and the Statute of the University of Cape Town. It consists of 15 registered students elected annually in a campus-wide election. The SRC holds office from 1 November until 31 October in the following year. It runs various programmes for student development and represents students on important university committees throughout its term.

Constitution of the Students' Representative Council | Election Regulations

The SRC Offices are located on Level 7, Steve Biko Students' Union, North Lane, Upper Campus.

For telephonic enquiries, please call:
Ms Zola Tame, SRC receptionist at 021- 650 3537

The SRC members for 2018

Outcome of the Constituting Meeting held on Tuesday 7 November 2017 at 4.30pm in the Steve Biko Students’ Union

No Portfolios Name Affiliation Phone numbers
1 President Karabo Khakhau DASO  
2 Vice-President Hannah Margetts DASO  
3 Secretary General Tãmi Jackson DASO  
4 Deputy Secretary General Dylan-James Greenstone DASO  
5 Treasurer General Emma Johansson DASO  
6 Corporate Relations & Fundraising Co-ordinator Gift Qetu-Yates DASO  
7 International Students Co-ordinator Zukiswa Jack EFFSC  
8 Labour & Student Services Co-ordinator Athabile Nonxuba PASMA  
9 Postgraduate Academic Co-ordinator Masixole Mlandu PASMA  
10 Residences & Housing Co-ordinator Mthobisi Mngomezulu DASO  
11 Social Responsiveness Co-ordinator Lethabo Maunye EFFSC  
12 Societies & Day Houses Co-ordinator Rodney Cameron DASO  
13 Sports & Recreation Co-ordinator Bongane Bucwa Independent  
14 Student Advocacy Co-ordinator Sihle Lonzi EFFSC  
15 Undergraduate Academics Co-ordinator Christopher Logan DASO  



Student Representative Council